wantedlove this cover so damn much but I probably won’t ever read Wanted by Betsy Schow because I really just couldn’t stand the first book in this series, Spelled. But Robin Hood has always held an incredibly special part in my heart, so naturally I was just dying to read this story initially. This book, actually, is the entire reason I read Spelled in the first place, because I wanted to read this one. But after my experience with Schow’s first novel in this series, I just don’t trust her to do Robin the justice he deserves in any way. I know I will just have to look for my genderbent Robin Hood story elsewhere (or write one myself). Even so, regardless of my obvious distaste for Schow’s writing and storytelling, I have to admit that this book cover is one of the best I’ve ever seen. I can tell  you, unquestionably, that I would just die to own a shoe like that.

I think it’s pretty obvious that my favorite part of this cover is that utterly gorgeous piece of footwear. There’s the arrow tip of the heel and the bow and arrow emblem on the side. Add in that utterly beautiful green color–my favorite–and I’m basically sold. I don’t really care for the text and I don’t see why it has to be that dull red color. At the very least it should have been a bright red. The mirror and smoke in the background is nice, but really only okay. Other than that, I think the text placement is decent, though wanted should be moved up a bit so that it’s not covering any part of the shoe. All in all, this is an exceptionally pretty cover to take some time looking at.

What do you think of this cover? Does it catch your eye? Do you like it? Hate it? Let me know all your thoughts in the comments!

| Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram |

Leave a Reply