shatter meIn truth, I thought I had washed my hands of the vile and repellant nature of this series quite a long time ago. It was poorly written, to begin with. Mafi repeatedly manipulated her characters in increasingly unrealistic ways all in her own attempt to manipulate her readers into feeling certain ways about them. There was a massive amount of the story that didn’t make sense when you went back to look at it. And, full stop, Mafi wrote a book series that straight up romanticizes abusive relationships. At every single turn of her books, she pushes her readers to believe that an abusive relationship is the one her readers should be supporting.

And so, when I finished book three, I was done. Granted, I didn’t honestly believe that there would ever be a fourth book. Or a fifth one. I wrote my review, fumed in anger about the fact that someone would put her main character in the “loving” arms of a psychotic abuser, and moved on. There were better books out there for me to read and they were ones that did not promote falling in love with someone who physically and mentally abuses their love interest. But it seems that the world wasn’t going to let me forget about this horrible book series.

For quite some time now I’ve seen it all over Twitter. For some unfathomable reason, a great number of people seem to love Warner, the psychotic and disgusting trash of a person who Mafi tried to force her readers into believing was redeemable. Though in a way I do suppose she succeeded with quite a number of her readers, and this in and of itself is what depresses me most of all about this series. So many people fell for the utterly unrealistic turnaround–which wasn’t really much of a turnaround anyway–that Mafi shoved down my throat as I read her books. So many people love him.

And this isn’t to say that I don’t think those who do love Warner shouldn’t have the right to do so. By all means, love him. But I do think that there is an importance to understanding the truths about Warner that many simply seem to ignore throughout this series. And so, in the interest of revealing each piece of Warner that is truly abusive as well as pointing out how utterly manipulative it was on the author’s part to come up with as many dumb and convenient excuses for why Warner always acted like such a psychotic monster (as if good intentions ever excuses torturing others; protip for you all, it does not), I’ve decided to reread the Shatter Me series.

Now, I realize that this is probably going to upset a lot of people. No one ever really likes to hear criticisms of the things that they love. I’ve been there. But the fact of the matter is that a) Warner is abusive, b) the Shatter Me series promotes the romanticization of abuse, c) Mafi wrote deeply unrealistic characters because of the fact that she completely decimated their personalities over the course of her three novels, and d) I don’t think enough people are aware of these facts. With the addition of two new novels to the series, I truly do see it as a disservice to the world that this is not discussed more often.

At least with the trash that is Fifty Shades of Grey, I regularly see others call it out for the abusive relationship promoting book that it is. I do not and have never really seen this with Shatter Me. So, as I reread this series I plan to regularly post updates describing the true abusive nature behind Warner, the disgusting reader manipulation that tried to force me to feel sorry for him, the problematic nature that comes from books that promote abusive relationships, and how all of the characters were poorly written in that the changes made to their personalities were wholly unrealistic.

But before I get to that, since I’ve only just started rereading the first book, here’s the first review I ever wrote for this series for those interested.

| Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram |

10 thoughts on “The Shatter Me Series and How it Romanticizes Abuse; Part One

  1. Honestly, I don’t exactly see how Warner abuses Juliette, but I just want to talk about her. First, Juliette loves to tell everyone who will listen that Warner isn’t bad and he’s misunderstood, but he never even shows it. He’s closed off, which I don’t blame him for, but it’s not helping Juliette’s case in the slightest, so for her to expect everyone to believe her is kinda ignorant. Also, in that moment in Ignite Me when we find out that mostly everything Warner did that made him psychotic to Juliette, it felt less like finding out the villain wasn’t actually the villain and was actually misunderstood, and more like Tahereh was dismissing everything Warner did with poorly written excuses. Like, the whole “simulation needs you to be wearing skimpy clothes in front of touch-deprived soldiers?” Nasty and unrealistic. And Warner shooting that guy? Oop, no- turns out he’s an abuser and Aaron’s an angel who saves everyone. I don’t believe it. Also, I feel so bad for Warner’s mom. I understand that he loves her, but keeping her alive when she’s suffering so badly is just so selfish. #Lethergowarner

    Like

    1. Just to add something(sorry about this)but Juliette is f*cking delusional for wanting to become supreme commander. Like, she is not cut out for it AT ALL, and Warner just going along with it is going to get them all killed. And yes, if you can’t already tell, I kind of hate her.(I’m only up to Ignite me btw)

      Like

  2. bro only some parts of the first book has some parts that weren’t considering Juliette’s mental state. Warner didn’t put her in the asylum and only chanced upon her when looking through files. Not to mention he bought her on base so that his father wouldn’t kill her and that he’s loved her no matter what. plus he knew her when she was a kid and their memories were erased and no matter what happened Warner fell in love with her each and every time. You have an overly large hatred towards Warner but have you actually read the whole series including the novellas? Warner obviously loves Juliette so much that he was willing to shoot his own father for her ( he didn’t but the fact that he pointed the gun at him when Paris told him to shoot Juliette proves that he was willing to murder the one guy whom he is most afraid of in order to protect her) and he even helped to take down the reestablishment for her to make her Supreme commander. he’s love is undeniable and in the first book I agree that Warner was too eager for her to join him and he should have given her space and time and not tried to pressure her but based on destroy me you can see that he felt bad when he realised that Juliette’s progress was due to Adam and not him and he was kicking himself over it. not to mention Warner has never once tried to use her as a weapon. so was never a weapon to him. that’s just the reason he told his father so that Juliette could come on base. if you read the full series again you’ll see that Warner and Juliette are actually perfect for each other. their personalities compliment each other and while there are some parts I disagree with, everything else you’ve said about Warner is overly harsh and unnecessary. also this is a work of fiction it’s not meant to be realistic. if your looking for realistic novels I recommend reading non fictions and autobiographies instead. I also highly recommend you don’t read popular booktok books because most of them are fantasy and there is quite a lot of abuse romanticizing. also if you really dislike romanticizing abuse I recommend reading the cat and mouse duet. 🤡 you’ll have a hell of a time speaking about Zade Meadows and how he is the worst most pitiful excuse of a man😂😂😂(no hate to zade btw I love him he is perfect 😩😍) don’t slam Warner thanks ❤

    Like

  3. I read the first two books while having already seen many vidoes on TikTok about Warner and I really didn’t understand how anyone could like him. But after reading Ignite me I am definitely a fan sorry guys.

    Like

  4. You must be reading a Shatter Me series from another universe because I don’t see how Warner is abusive in any form. Yes, he has blood on his hands, but mostly for good reason. He didn’t treat Juliette like a piece of trash, nor was he belittling her in any way. You must have been talking about Paris Anderson, Warner’s father? He’s abusive, that’s for sure. But the author didn’t write it in a way that approves Paris’s actions.

    Like

    1. Also, do you have evidence of abuse in the series? In this blog, you’re repeating your strong dislike towards the series but no evidence to support your opinion.

      Like

  5. FIRST OF ALL, IN WHAT SHAPE OF FORM DID AARON EVER ABUSE ANYONE??? MENTALLY AND PHYSICALLY? WE MUST NOT HAVE READ THE SAME BOOK BECAUSE IT EXPLAINED EXACTLY WHAT HAPENNED, THEY EXPLAINED EXACTLY HE DID THE THINGS HE DID AND ANYONE COULD AGREE WITH HIM. WHEN HE SHOT THAT ONE SOLDIER, IT WAS BC THAT SOLDIER ABUSED HIS CHILDREN AND PREGANT WIFE AND THE ROOM WHERE JULIETTE WAS WITH THE BABY WAS A DANG STIMULATION. AND YOU’RE ALSO SAYING THAT SOME PARTS OF THE BOOKS WERE UNREALISTIC, WELL SORRY TO TELL YOU THAT THE BOOKS ARE FICTION. BOO CORNY, THROWING TOMATOES. BYE, YOU’RE MAD

    Like

  6. Might just be me, but I don’t see it. Yeah, in book one I can sorta see it, as well as some parts of Unravel Me but after that I really cannot. Note that I read this series before seeing it on socials and everyone loving it, and I loved every single book and all the characters, mostly Warner. It’s almost like he’s supposed to be a morally grey character, not to be liked by everyone and I know people can take that to the extreme at times but I think Tahereh Mafi nailed it. First time I’m seeing someone bring this up and using such strong vocab, but I’s definitely interested to see what you’ve uncovered.

    Like

  7. I totally agree with you. I started reading the first book in the series as everyone was talking about it since the next book was coming and I always heard good things about this series. Oh my, I ended up DNF’ing the book quite near the end as I just could not take it any longer. I was so disgusted by what was happening, I really was not enjoying myself. So yeah, I agree with you 100% and I’m glad you took the time to point this out to others.

    Like

Leave a Reply