I cannot help feeling genuinely amazed at all the people who’ve managed to get the 80% badge on NetGalley, since this beautiful badge I’ve been aspiring to have for quite some time now continues to remain just out of reach for me with each passing day. Every time I get close, something happens to negate all the work and effort that went in to getting there. Namely, I request a pile of new books and get approved.

At the risk of blasphemy and seeming ungrateful, which I can assure you that I am not as I do feel genuinely honored to have been approved for some of the books I’ve been approved for, I have to admit that a small part of me wishes more of my requests would get denied. My only reasoning for this is that I think it’s pretty clear I have no self control to cease requesting all the books that sound interesting and therefore cannot be trusted. The ultimate solution to this, as far as I am concerned, is for the end decision to be out of my control. Which, mostly, it is. But publishers have thus far been wonderful in their agreement to send me their books. And so, with every three books I review, I get approved for five more.

And while I’m not looking for advice, really, since I still have a 73% ratio and I know my hopelessness is not likely to be averted, I must admit that I’m trying to think of a way to tackle this. It’d be nice to not have so many books I need to read at some point in the future. For now, though, I’m somewhat set with this short rant about it. One day that 80% badge won’t just be a pipe dream, it will be an actual accomplishment.

| Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram |

3 thoughts on “NetGalley Thoughts; The Coveted 80% Badge

  1. Oh, those NetGalley badges! I don’t know why it bugs me so much, but I have a few publishers who’ve preapproved me yet I don’t have the approved badge… and I want it! I know what you mean about sometimes wanting to be declined. Every once in a while I’ll hit the request button and instantly wish I hadn’t, because the book may sound good, but there’s so much else still to read!

    Like

  2. I understand this feeling totally! I used to be very good at leaving feedback quite quickly once requesting a book on Netgalley so having the 80% badge was lovely BUT I overdid the requests – they make it too easy haha! – so now I’ve slipped back to 74! Hopefully I’ll get back to being more organised on there soon!

    Like

Leave a Reply