why i'm no longer talking to white people about raceIt’s that time of the week again, and I’ve got a special treat for you guys. Today I’ll be featuring a review written by Dayan @ Bittersweet Misadventures, and one that is not only exceptional by itself but one that is deeply important in our world today. This is a girl with a wonderful blog. She reviews all sorts of books, much to my own personal pleasure, and while I would have loved to feature a review for a YA novel–as those are the books I read primarily–I was extremely influenced by my read of her review for this particular book. And I’m truly hoping that by sharing it, many of you will experience that feeling as well.

It’s pretty rare that I go out and buy a book immediately after a review, but I did that for Dayan’s review of Why I’m No Longer Talking to White People About Race by Reni Eddo-Lodge. Dayan writes her reviews with bullet points, pulling pieces of her thoughts regarding the book she’s read in order to give readers of her review a really clear and impressive picture of how the book goes. And she does this without spoiling things; though in the case of a book like this, I admit that I’m not really super concerned with spoilers being avoided. Regardless, I see this book as an essentially important read for just about everyone today, but especially for anyone who is white. Of course, it’s not the only essential reading about this particular topic and I have been making efforts to read more and more about it as I grow older. These are issues that people like myself will never understand fully, and will never have a reasonable grasp of unless we educate ourselves as vigorously as we possibly can. It’s important, and I’m glad to be able to show support to this blogger through a review as meaningful and seriously relevant as this one.

“…if there are three microphones standing in front of someone in a speech, this small book speaks louder than that. The content is meant to make you uncomfortable, self-guilty and…”

So, please, take a few minutes out of your day to drop by Dayan’s blog, read a few of her reviews (including this one!) and give her a bit of your support. She’s got one of the best blogs I’ve ever seen and deserves it, 100%. Happy reading, everyone!

| Goodreads | Twitter | Instagram |

Leave a Reply